Jump to: navigation, search


The Australia Test and ODI team is led by Michael Clarke.

For Australia team in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015, visit Australia in 2015 World Cup.

Coaching Staff


World Cup History

Australia won the World Cup tournament five times - 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007 and 2015. They have reached the semi-finals of the tournament (7 times) the most by any team. India, Pakistan and New Zealand have qualified six times each.

Australia was in a pretty vulnerable state in 1987. Allan Border took charge of the team when it was at its worst state, quality wise. Australian greats like Dennis Lillee, Greg Chappell and Rodney Marsh have retired in that time and a number of Australian players were facing bans for having toured South Africa. Bob Simpson was appointed coach of Australia. The combination of Border and Simpson clicked and Australia won their first World Cup title in 1987.

Stats and Trivia

  • Four batsmen from Australia scored a century on their World Cup debut. Trevor Chappell, Geoff Marsh, Andrew Symonds and Aaron Finch hit centuries on their debut in World Cup. Aaron Finch is the latest batsman to achieve the feat when he scored 135 in Australia's opening match against England in the ICC Cricket World Cup 2015.
  • David Boon, Aaron Finch, David Warner, Glenn Maxwell and Steven Smith are the only Australian batsman to score a century in World Cup at home.


  • Australia holds the record for longest winning streak in World Cups. They have won 25 matches between 1999 and 2011.